St. Mary's College RFC
St. Mary's College RFC
Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC
A community club steeped in tradition and a home for some of the greatest rugby legends.

Presidents Message

Michael O’Flaherty

I am extremely proud and honoured to have been elected the 60th President of St. Mary’s College RFC. I warmly welcome you all to this great club.

To all the members, our neighbours, the visiting teams and their supporters, I look forward to meeting you all this 2019/20 season. In particular I want to welcome and thank the match officials who join us every weekend to ensure both fairness on the pitch and the safety of the players.

The Club maintained it’s Division 1B status last season and our hopes and ambitions are to return to Division 1A.

I wish every success to Club Captain Tom O’Reilly, Head Coach Steve Hennessy, assisted by Jamie Cornett and Barry Lynn, Manager Paudge McGill and his team of Peter O’Kelly,  Ruaidhri Moran and Ian Bloomer.

To all our teams in the Metro Divisions, including our Under 20’s, our Women’s team, our Juniors, Vets, Youths and Mini’s, your coaches, managers and all the volunteers, I wish you all the best in the coming season and I look forward to supporting and attending many of your upcoming games.

I want to thank Alan Shirley, the Chairman of Rugby and indeed all our of Directors of Rugby. Sarah Moore (Women’s), Mossy Davin (Junior Rugby), Robbie O’Neill and Aaron Gernon (Youth Rugby), Paddy Lennon and Shane Keown (Mini’s).

Thank you to all of our fantastic Sponsors, in particular our main Club Sponsor, Softco – Jim Coffey and Susan Spence, for their continued support and loyalty. Huge thanks also, to all the members of the Club who support both home and away fixtures. Keep up the good work this coming season.

To my fellow officers, Joe Doddy our Chairman, Vinnie Cunningham, Honorary Treasurer (Vice President), Patrick Crawford, Honorary Secretary (Junior Vice President), I thank you for your leadership and guidance within the Executive Committee. I welcome our new executive members, Pearl Healy, Paul Pender and Vinnie Murray and welcome back John Bainbridge, Gareth Roche and Richard Fagan.

I also look forward to working alongside our Club Administrator Marie Hammond, Bar Manager Tony McGuinness and his staff, Groundsman Pat Nash and Club Housekeeper Rio O’Toole.

To all our other volunteers who give up their spare time because of their love of the Club, I thank you sincerely and I hope to see many more of you during the upcoming season.

With your help I will do all I can to maintain and strengthen the reputation of St Mary’s College RFC during my year as President.

Lets make this year one to remember!!

Michael O’Flaherty

President 2019/2020